Upon this Rock and A Catechism
of the Holy Rosary
by Fr Edwin Gordon

Home Page
Catholic Publications


Upon this Rock and A Catechism of the Holy Rosary,
by Fr Edwin Gordon

Available from Gracewing publishers, £7.99, ISBN 0852446098

This book represents the fruits of many years of prayer, work, and meditation by Fr Edwin Gordon. The first part, Upon This Rock - with a foreword by Canon Francis Ripley - provides a catechetical programme of instruction and is fully referenced to the Catechism of the Catholic Church. It is published together with a series of meditations with Our Lady on the Catholic truths made manifest in the Rosary, including the Luminous Mysteries: A Catechism of the Holy Rosary - with a preface by His Eminence Marcelo Cardinal Gonzalez Martin, the former Primate of Spain.

The beauty of this book is that it is both food for the soul and the mind. The catechetical material is presented in such an appealing yet striking manner that the truths it contains are absorbed very easily - this is certainly not a dry catechetical text. But it also illustrates that despite modern educational trends, there is no substitute for a good knowledge of the teaching of the Church, and equally that belief in the truths of Catholicism is not just a question of logical reasoning, it is also a matter of faith.

In our complicated world, there is undoubtedly a need for a book like this, which presents what Catholics should believe in a simple yet attractive way. In particular, Fr Gordon illustrates how, despite the insecurities of our modern world, in Our Lady we have a sure refuge, a spiritual mother, whose divinely ordained role is to lead us to her son. Jesus Christ. By meditating on the mysteries of the Holy Rosary in her company we are able to walk securely along the path of Salvation.

In the tradition of Ronald Knox, Father Gordon unites dogmatic precision with an attractive simplicity of style. This gem of a book is for everyone who wants to understand the Catholic Faith more deeply and to learn to pray the Rosary with their whole mind and heart. I warmly recommend it. Fr John Saward.

Fr Edwin Gordon was horn in Gibraltar in 1934, and from the age of six has been an insulin-dependent diabetic. He and his family spent the duration of World War II in North Africa, at Casablanca and Tangiers - where he was taught by the Irish Christian Brothers. In 1945 they moved to Bristol. He studied law at university, before eventually being ordained as a priest in 1962. Fr Gordon worked in parishes for many years in Clifton diocese, and also served in the 1970s as the spiritual director of the English College at Valladolid, in Spain. Though becoming blind in the early 1980s, he was in charge of a small rural parish until his retirement in 2002. He has had numerous articles published in various Catholic magazines, and has given talks to students, conducted retreats, and taught at Catholic summer schools.

Review by Francis Phillips ...

Available from Gracewing publishers, £7.99, ISBN 0852446098


Home Page
Catholic Publications

Theotokos Catholic Books - Publications Section - www.theotokos.org.uk